United Pastors for Social Empowerment
Thursday, July 18, 2024

Our Members

Rev. Dr. Donald Perryman, President

 Rev. Dr. Donald L. Perryman, a Toledo Ohio native, received his Ph.D. from the Antioch University Graduate School of Leadership and Change in August, 2019. He also earned his Doctor of Ministry (D.Min) degree from  United Theological Seminary, Dayton, Ohio in 2007 with a focus in Social Justice Ministry and Political Activism. He received both a Bachelor of Business Administration (B.B.A.) and Master of Business Administration (MBA) with a concentration in corporate finance from the Univeristy of Toledo and a Master of Arts (M.A.) from Antioch University Graduate School of Leadership and Change.


In October, 2018, Dr. Perryman successfully defended his dissertation, earning his PhD from the Antioch University’s Graduate School of Leadership & Change in Yellow Springs, Ohio. His dissertation, “The Role of the Black Church in Addressing the Collateral Damage of Mass Incarceration,” synthesizes the myriad of practical interventions that churches can utilize to impact communities, individuals, families, current and formerly incarcerated persons, as well as systems, policy makers and others directly or indirectly affected by mass incarceration. Dr. Perryman’s research is an extension of his decades of advocacy related to criminal justice policy and systems reform.


In 2008, Dr. Perryman founded United Pastors for Social Empowerment (UPSE), a coalition of faith leaders working in collaboration with institutional representatives and other communities of practice to challenge the disparities affecting the poor and other marginalized communities through public policy, community development and political empowerment.


Other UPSE Members:
Felicia Clark, MetroParks Toledo
Fr. Geoff Rose, St. Francis de Sales High School
Eric Walker, Children's Services
Pastor Alvin Dawson
Ethel Scott, Indiana Ave. Baptist Church
Rev. William Davis, Retired Pastor
Candace Bishop, TLCHB
David Manor, ABLE
Pastor Phil Ryburn, Cornerstone Church
Major Tom Dupree, Salvation Army
Major Barbara Dupree, salvation Army
Jesus Sala, ABLE
Raina Dawson, ABLE
Rene Laws, ABLE
Pastor Christopher Hanley, Glenwood Lutheran Church
 Pastor Ben Green, New Covenant Church
 Gayle Lake, Toledo Public Schools
Tracee Perryman, The Ohio State University
 Pastor Willie Perryman, Jerusalem Baptist Church
Treva Jeffries, Toledo Public Schools
Sarah Jenkins, The Fair Housing Center
Sheena Barnes, Toledo-Lucas County Health Dept.
Beatrice Daniels, NAACP
Pastor Michael Carter, Praise City Church
Pastor Robert Lyons, Greater St. Mary's Baptist Church 
Fr. Tony Gallagher, retired Catholic Priest
Delores Williams, Lucas County Mental Health and Recovery Services Board
Marie Flannery, The Fair Housing Center
Johnetta McCollough, TASC of NW Ohio
Melody Pillar, CASA
Rev. Dr. Amariah McIntosh, Phillips Temple CME Church
Christine Dziad, Greater Toledo Community Foundation
J. Rinsen Weik, PhD, The Buddhist Temple of Toledo
Wade Kapszukiewicz, Lucas County Treasurer
Ethel Scott, Keybank
Erin Peterson
Rev. Dr. Otis Gordon
Brandon Tucker, Reformation Church
Rev. Dr. TK Barger, First Unitarian Church